TV Review: ‘It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia’

Dennis suggests ‘It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia’ (in Comedy). Videoport’s Regan kept after me to watch this show and, since it is unwise to defy Videoport’s Regan, I spent a couple of my precious lunch hours viewing some episodes. I hated it. I found it crude, boorish, obnoxious, and wincingly shrill so I returned to work and answered Regan’s “Well? What do you think?” with a sort of sheepish shrug. She beat me senseless. So after giving it some more thought, and having my grade-3 concussion attended to, I decided to give it another go. It was still crude, boorish, obnoxious, and wincingly shrill. But I kept watching it on successive lunch hours, and now I find myself looking forward to it, even without the fear of merciless beatings spurring me on. The show follows Dennis, Dee, Mac and Charlie,

So I think from up there, we could spread a lot more misery...

four self-obsessed, twenty-something nitwits who co-own an Irish-themed bar in the titular city. Why Philadelphia? Maybe because it has the reputation of being a haven for the most miserable human beings in this great land of hours. (Their sports ‘fans’ are so notoriously contrary to their own teams that a stadium full of them once pelted Santa Claus with snowballs until he fled- just google ‘philadelphia + santa claus + snowballs’ if you don’t believe me). Anyway, the plot of each episode can be summed up by the concept, ‘one of the gang decides they want something completely mean, selfish, and awful and goes about getting it whilst hurting the most people possible’. And there’s usually a B-story about another member of the gang just doing something really stupid. Also adding to the evil, Danny DeVito plays Dennis and Dee’s father, a boorish millionaire who decides, after his wife throws him out, to reinsert himself into the kids’ lives by buying into the bar and moving in with Charlie. DeVito is game for literally anything in this show, and his character is what Louie DePalma would have been with a little more education and a ton of cash. So why do I sort of like this show? It may be the lingering head wound talking, but it really grew on me once the central premise (watching the worst people in the world be truly awful) was recognized and accepted. Seriously, these people make the gang at ‘Seinfeld’ look like the Waltons and Larry David look like Mr. Rogers.

Published in: on June 14, 2009 at 5:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://videoportjones.wordpress.com/2009/06/14/tv-review-its-always-sunny-in-philadelphia/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

